Secretary of State loses seat, other state positions retained - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Secretary of State loses seat, other state positions retained


DES MOINES (KWWL) --  Incumbent Secretary of State Michael Mauro has lost his seat in Des Moines. Mauro was defeated by Republican Matt Schultz.  Mauro succeeded Chet Culver in 2006. Matt Schultz has served the City of Council Bluffs as a council member since he was elected in 2005. Matt is also an attorney at the law firm of Schultz and Watson, LLP.

Democratic Attorney General Tom Miller will serve another term, winning over attorney Brenna Findley. He's held that position since 1978, with the exception of four years while he was in private practice.

Also keeping his spot on election day, Secretary of Agriculture Bill Northey. He beat out Democrat Francis Thicke, of Fairfield.

Treasurer Michael Fitzgerald will continue to manage money for our state. He won against Republican David Jamison. Fitzgerald was first elected State Treasurer of Iowa in 1982.

David Vaudt will serve another term as State Auditor, beating out Democrat Jon Murphy Tuesday.

Powered by Frankly