Deadline extended for IA unemployment assistance - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Deadline extended for IA unemployment assistance

WEST DES MOINES (KWWL) -- Iowans who lost work as a result of the summer floods now have until the first week of November to file for "Disaster Unemployment Assistance".

DUA was made available as part of the presidential disaster declaration resulting from the severe storms, flooding, and tornadoes of June 1 through Aug. 31, 2010.  The program provides weekly benefit payments to those out of work due to the disaster, including self-employed persons, farm and ranch owners, and others not covered by typical unemployment insurance programs.

The filing deadline is November 1, for residents who live or work in one of the following counties:  Appanoose, Black Hawk, Cherokee, Clayton, Decatur, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Franklin, Hamilton, Howard, Humboldt, Ida, Jackson, Jasper, Jones, Kossuth, Lee, Lucas, Lyon, Mahaska, Marion, O'Brien, Osceola, Polk, Ringgold, Sioux, Story, Taylor, Union, Wapello, Warren, Webster, and Wright.

The filing deadline is November 4, for residents of Monroe County, which was added to the declared counties in late September.

"This is not regular unemployment compensation, but a program to help people who lost their jobs or cannot work because of the disaster," said Tom Hall with FEMA. 

DUA claims can be filed at any Iowa Workforce Development Center.  Individuals applying for the program need to provide proof of past earnings, such as business records or bank statements and their most recent income tax form, at the time they file their claim.

In addition to assistance filing a DUA claim, Iowa Workforce Development Centers offer reemployment services, including testing, counseling and placement.  More information is available here.

Powered by Frankly