Teens to award $10,000 to area non-profits - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Teens to award $10,000 to area non-profits


WATERLOO (KWWL) -- 26 students from ten Black Hawk County high schools have been selected to serve on the 2010-2011 Teen Trust Board of Directors. These students will be responsible for allocating $10,000 over the next year to non-profit organizations in Black Hawk County. Applications for Teen Trust grants will be made available in late October or early November.

Student Director La Rae Hayes leads the program. Hayes is currently a senior at UNI, working to receive an American Humanics Certificate in Non-Profit Management. She will serve as a mentor for the high school students, helping them achieve the philanthropic goals they will set for themselves.

2010-2011 Teen Trustees include: Carissa Becker (Don Bosco), Kelly Budreau (Hudson), Peter Christensen (Waterloo West), Danica Delong (Dunkerton), Andy Foster (Waterloo West), Sara Gabrielle (Cedar Falls), Ryan Giarusso (Cedar Falls), Essoria Greer (Waterloo East), Megan Hartmann (Cedar Falls), Janae Holmes (Waterloo West), Dalila Husidic (Waterloo West), Victoria Johnson (Waterloo West), Saman Malik (Cedar Falls), Hillary Marquard (Hudson), Shane McFadden (Don Bosco), Christine McKenna (Northern University), Anne Nora (Columbus), Allison Richman (Waterloo West), Danny Rigdon (Dunkerton), Berenis Sanchez (Waterloo East), Sami Jo Schmitt (Columbus), Emma Scott (Waterloo West), Caroline Sell (Northern University), John Stone (Valley), Catherin Wigg (Union), and Kevynne Wimberley (Waterloo West).

Teen Trust is a program of the Community Foundation of Northeast Iowa. It empowers and challenges high school students to address, identify and seek solutions to community needs while building a sense of social responsibility. The grant funds will be allocated to non-profit programs and projects that address community needs and are within criteria that the students will determine as priorities. This unique philanthropic training program illustrates how teenagers can be vital community contributors now, as well as valuable leaders in the future. For more information, contact Carolynn Sween, Community Foundation program director, at (319) 287-9106.

Powered by Frankly