Former Hudson & Osage teacher picked as 2011 Teacher of the Year - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Former Hudson & Osage teacher picked as 2011 Teacher of the Year

WEST DES MOINES (KWWL) -- Gov. Chet Culver announced Monday that a former teacher in the Hudson and Osage school districts has been selected as the 2011 Iowa Teacher of the Year.

Molly Boyle, a University of Northern Iowa grad that currently teaches third grade at Brookview Elementary School in the Waukee Community School District, was selected above four other finalists for the honor.

Boyle was nominated by Dr. Brian Cooper, a parent of one of her students.  In his nomination, Dr. Cooper said, "What is most impressive about Mrs. Boyle is not that she can motivate the children who are already doing well in school, but that she can motivate all of her students to perform at an exceptional level."

Dr. David Wilkerson, Superintendent of the Waukee Community School District said, "She is an excellent educator and will do a great job representing educators around the state. Molly has a passion and enthusiasm for teaching that is contagious for her students and fellow teachers. Most importantly, students always come first with Molly."

Boyle says that educators need to prepare for the future.  In her application she said, "The potential to create 21st century classrooms where students are curious, creative, and technologically savvy is available. In order for this to occur, districts will be required to hold teachers accountable for adhering to revised curriculum, while at the same time committing to providing teachers with the training and time they need to transform their teaching and instructional practice." 

Boyle, who got both her Bachelor's Degree and Master's Degree from UNI, has taught in the Waukee Community School District since 2001.  She has also taught in the Des Moines, Hudson and Osage school districts. 

Other finalists for the award were:

- Thomas G. Cuvelier, a science teacher at Senior High School in the Dubuque Community School District, Dubuque, Iowa;

- Donna Sue Lawler, an instruction coach at Southeast Elementary School in the Ankeny Community School District, Ankeny, Iowa;

- Deborah Ann Masker, a vocal music teacher at Kirn Middle School in the Council Bluffs Community School District, Council Bluffs, Iowa;

- Laurie K. Powell, a 4th grade teacher at Smith Elementary School in the Sioux City Community School District, Sioux City, Iowa.

All the finalists will be recognized at a luncheon on Oct. 22, at the Ruan Center in Des Moines.

Boyle's tenure as Iowa Teacher of the Year will run from January to December of 2011.

Powered by Frankly