Flood recovery efforts recognized by Gov. Culver - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Flood recovery efforts recognized by Gov. Culver

DES MOINES (KWWL)--- Iowa Governor Chet Culver and the Rebuild Iowa Office will recognize one couple, five individuals and three organizations with the Rebuild Iowa Award for Service this month.  The award recognizes Iowans who have gone above and beyond the call of duty in Iowa's 2008 disaster recovery efforts. Additionally, 12 individuals and groups have been awarded Certificates of Appreciation. 

Recipients of the Rebuild Iowa Award for Service are:  Ken DeNault of Cedar Falls, Sarah Dyck of Iowa City, Iowa Community Foundations of Des Moines, Butler County Disaster Recovery Coalition in Allison, and Karla Goettel, Michael & Lynette Richards, Steve Thomas, and Block by Block  of Cedar Rapids.

"Individuals and organizations receiving the Rebuild Iowa Award for Service are prime examples of what it means to give back to the community and to its people.  When disaster strikes, it is through the work of dedicated Iowans and volunteer organizations like those being honored with this award, who help the people of Iowa move forward. The importance and spirit of volunteerism embodied by these individuals and groups can't be emphasized enough," said Governor Chet Culver.

Recipients will be presented with a plaque during a special ceremony at various public events throughout July.  The dates and times of each event will be announced by the RIO prior to each presentation.  Recipients will also be featured in future "Working to Recover" press releases.

"These individuals and groups represent just a small portion of the outpouring of volunteerism and giving exhibited throughout the 2008 disaster recovery effort.  We would not be where we are today without partnerships with volunteers and non-profit organizations here in Iowa," said Lt. Gen. Ron Dardis, executive director of the Rebuild Iowa Office.

Governor Culver and Lt. General Dardis also recognized several nominees with a Certificate of Appreciation for their work in Iowa's disaster recovery from 2008. Individuals who received a certificate are Ellen and Jim FitzPatrick of Mason City, Virgil Goodrich of Parkersburg and Elaine Haugen of Ankeny.

Organizations that received a certificate are Blackhawk County Long-Term Recovery Committee in Waterloo; The Christian Reformed World Relief Committee in Byron Center, Mich.; Community Corrections Improvement Association VISTA in Cedar Rapids; Iowa Association of Regional Councils in Altoona; Iowa Disaster Human Resources Council in Johnston; Keepers of the Land AmeriCorps Members in Des Moines; North Cedar Neighborhood Association in Cedar Falls; North Iowa Community Action Organization in Mason City; and Theater Cedar Rapids in Cedar Rapids.

Nominees were judged on volunteer hours, community impact, creativity, leadership and project(s) sustainability.  All applications were judged by an independent selection committee made up of public dignitaries and private citizens involved with the state's 2008 disaster recovery effort.



Powered by Frankly