Five enshrined into Hall of Fame at Gable Museum - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Five enshrined into Hall of Fame at Gable Museum


WATERLOO (KWWL) -- Five grapplers from the state of Iowa have been immortalized at the Dan Gable International Wrestling Museum on Saturday.  The five were enshrined as the class of 2010 into the Glen Brand Hall of Fame of Iowa.

They included New Hampton native Gordon Hassman who won a national title for Iowa State in 1957, former Hawkeye and 1975 national champion Dan Holm, current Iowa City West head coach Mark Reiland who won an individual title for the Hawkeyes 19 years ago, Janesville's Tolly Tthompson who won a 1995 national title at Nebraska.  Tolly also finished 3rd in the 2005 World Championships

Long-time referee Mike Allen of Waterloo rounded out the 2010 class.  Allen spent 35 years behind the whistle.

For all of the inductees, this was quite an honor.

"Being part of the Dan Gable Museum and being in Waterloo, Iowa, that was the pinnacle of my career," said Allen.

Thompson agreed.  "I went to the Wahawk club and I grew up there, and we walked by Coach Gable's picture going to the locker room, walking back, every night before and after practice, and just that atmosphere of coming here and being here, this hall of fame being here, it's great."

The museum also handed out a couple of posthumous awards, one to Nobel Prize winner Norman Borlaug who was a state wrestling runner-up while competing in Cresco.  While former Waterloo Courier sports editor Russ Smith was also honored for his contributions to the sport of wrestling.

Online reporter Mark Woodley

Powered by Frankly