Staker named D-3 Coach of the Year - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Staker named D-3 Coach of the Year

CEDAR RAPIDS (KWWL) -- After an outstanding season where the Kohawks reached the second round of the Division III playoffs, the man leading the way has been named the NCAA Division III Coach of the Year by Liberty Mutual.

Steve Staker, in only his second year as the Coe College Head Coach, led the Kohawks to only their third, 10-win season in school history.  The Kohawks finished 2009 at 10 -2.

The award, handed out by Liberty Mutual Insurance, allows Staker to donate $50,000 to charities of his choice and gives an additional $20,000 to the alumni programs at Coe. 

The award recognizes one coach in each division of NCAA football for the success and sportsmanship of their teams on the field as well as the achievements of their student-athletes in the classroom and in the community. 

In Staker's first season at Coe, the Kohawks finished with just four wins, but finished the 2009 season ranked #10 in the nation according to

Outside of football, Staker and his players have volunteered for Special Olympics and at local elementary schools.

Coach Staker spends his off-field time maintaining baseball diamonds for the Hiawatha Kids' League, and also helps out at Fredericksburg High School track meets.

Staker was the Fredericksburg's head track coach for 28 years, head football coach for 35 years and head baseball coach for 31 years.

Staker led Fredericksburg's football team to six district titles and a state championship.

He was named Class A Coach of the Year in 2001 and was named to the Iowa Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame in 1994.

Coaches winning the honor in other divisions are:

- Gary Patterson - Texas Christian University - Division I FBS
- Jerry Moore - Appalachian State University - Division I FCS
-  Mel Tjeerdsma - Northwest Missouri State University - Division II

Online Content Manager: Eric Page

Powered by Frankly