Hawks won 1957 Rose Bowl - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Hawks won 1957 Rose Bowl

PASADENA, CALIFORNIA (KWWL) -- The Iowa Hawkeyes won the Rose Bowl January 1, 1957.  Iowa beat Oregon State in the game by a score of 35-19.

Kenny Ploen, the Iowa quarterback, completed nine of 10 passes, rushes 59 yards and opens the scoring with a 49-yard run.  Collins Hagler scored twice for the Hawkeyes, once on a 66-yard sprint. Three times Oregon State hurts itself by fumbling the ball to Iowa. Joe Francis with 73 yards running and 10 of 12 pass completions joins Sterling Hammack (four catches) as Beaver big guns.

Online Producer: Mike Verlo
Online Source: Rose Bowl History

Powered by Frankly