UNI's Ruffin Earns Second MVFC Defensive Honors - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

UNI's Ruffin Earns Second MVFC Defensive Honors


Thirteen University of Northern Iowa football players have been named to the 2009 All-Missouri Valley Football Conference football teams. The Panthers have five players on the first team, led by senior defensive end James Ruffin being named the league's Co-Defensive Player of the Year.

Ruffin is the sixth league player to win back-to-back Defensive Player of the Year honors. He leads the league and ranks sixth nationally with 10.5 sacks. He will share this 2009 honor with South Dakota State's Danny Batten. UNI's Pat Grace finished third in the voting for league's Offensive Player of the Year.

UNI's first-team honorees include senior quarterback Pat Grace (Sioux City, Iowa), senior center Austin Steichen (Remsen, Iowa), senior defensive end James Ruffin (Burnsville, Minn.), senior linebacker Josh Mahoney (Sioux Falls, S.D.) and senior safety Quentin Scott (Little Rock, Ark.).

The Panthers' second-team group includes junior tight end/fullback Ryan Mahaffey (Grinnell, Iowa), junior tight end Schuylar Oordt (Cedar Falls, Iowa), senior offensive tackle Austin Howard (Davenport, Iowa) and senior defensive tackle Wes Lane (Waterloo, Iowa).

UNI's honorable mention picks include redshirt freshman running back Carlos Anderson (Blue Springs, Mo.), senior wide receiver D.J. Hord (Lee's Summit, Mo.), junior placekicker Billy Hallgren (Coal Valley, Ill.) and junior linebacker Jamar Thompson (Andover, Minn.).

Powered by Frankly