S-T-A-T-E Cheerleading - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

S-T-A-T-E Cheerleading

DES MOINES (KWWL) - The Iowa Cheerleading State Championships run Saturday in Des Moines.

The event runs from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. at Veterans Memorial Auditorium. More than 1,300 cheerleaders and coaches are making 124 teams representing approximately 80 Iowa schools.

Defending Champions:

Group Stunt Small School - Gladbrook-Reinbeck

Group Stunt Large School - Pleasant Valley

Non Stunt/Mount - Emmetsburg

Small Team - Lake Mills

Co-ed - Fort Dodge Senior

1A - Bishop Garrigan

2A - Des Moines Christian

3A - Crestwood

4A - Davenport Assumption

4A Large - Valley

State Champions for 2009 will be crowned in the above divisions.

Teams Competing from the Des Moines Area: 4A & 4A Large - Valley, Dowling, SE Polk, Des Moines North, Ankeny, Waukee, Ames, Marshalltown, Johnston, Indianola, Des Moines East 3A - Carlisle, Winterset, Dallas Center-Grimes, Boone, Adel-DeSoto-Minburn, Ballard, Norwalk 1A & 2A- BCLUW (Conrad), Gilbert, Madrid, Van Meter, Woodward-Granger, DM Christian, North Polk, Bondurant-Farrar, Colo-Nesco, NSM-Nevada, Roland Story

TEAMS COMPETING FROM THE WATERLOO AREA: Cedar Falls, Waterloo West, Waterloo East, Dubuque, Iowa City West, Anamosa, South Tama, Union, BCLUW (Conrad), Dubuque Senior, Debuque Hempstead, Marshalltown, Nashua Plainfield, North Cedar, HLV, Jesup, Vinton-Shellsburg, Gladbrook Reinbeck,

Major Awards presented:

Lifetime Achievement: Jeanne Ehn, BCLUW

Iowa Spirit Coach of the Year: Pam Cinadr, Pleasant Valley

Iowa Contributor of the Year: Jenny Crawford, SE Polk

Award of Appreciation: Essex High School

Powered by Frankly