Moen dominates field at cross country district - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Moen dominates field at cross country district


ARLINGTON (KWWL) -- Wapsie Valley senior Katy Moen hasn't been beaten in 2009.  That didn't change on Monday as Moen dominated the field in this 1A district to advance to the state meet running in a time of 15:10.  The margin of victory was an incredible 48 seconds over runner-up Grace Moore of Mason City Newman.

Girls results (state qualifiers)


  1. Katy Moen (Wapsie Valley)  -  15:10
  2. Grace Moore (MC Newman)
  3. Jenny Kuennen (Turkey Valley)
  4. Megan Lister (Ed-Co)
  5. Dannielle Schweitzer (East Buchanan)
  6. Andrea Toppin (Ventura)
  7. Shelbie Beatty (East Buchanan)
  8. Jesse Lankford (NU)
  9. Rachel Clemon (Ed-Co)
  10. Kelsey Bergan (Central Elkader)


  1. Central Elkader 66
  2. Ed-Co 109
  3. Turkey Valley 115

Boys results (state qualifiers)


  1. Parker Drake (AGWSR)
  2. Kyle Wagner (Central Elkader)
  3. Fritz Bushman (Valley)
  4. Terry Nielsen (NU)
  5. Adam Best (Turkey Valley
  6. Ethan Rogers (Tipton)
  7. Kevin Klobassa (Nashua-Plainfield)
  8. Spencer Byrd (Tipton)
  9. Jonny Worley (North Butler)
  10. Isaac Montes (AGWSR)


  1. Tipton 41
  2. Central Elkader 75
  3. Nashua-Plainfield 103

Online reporter Mark Woodley

Powered by Frankly