Disaster declaration - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Disaster declaration



DES MOINES (AP)-- Gov. Chet Culver says U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack has declared 22 Iowa counties disaster areas because of severe storms that damaged crops between May 15 and July 31.

Culver says Monday's declarations were made after assessments on crop and agriculture losses were done throughout the state. Declarations are still pending for several Iowa counties that may be added at a later date.

The declaration expand the eligibility for individuals in the affected and contiguous counties for additional USDA assistance.

The counties declared Monday were: Allamakee, Clarke, Fayette, Jefferson, Van Buren, Benton, Clay, Howard, Keokuk, Wapello, Bremer, Clayton, Iowa, Lucas, Wayne, Butler, Decatur, Jackson, Mahaska, Winneshiek, Chickasaw and Delaware.

Powered by Frankly