Former Hawk Station Named to the Hall of Fame - KWWL - Eastern Iowa Breaking News, Weather, Closings

Former Hawk Station Named to the Hall of Fame

Larry Station, the former University of Iowa linebacker who compiled nearly 500 career tackles and twice was named consensus All-American, has been elected to the College Football Hall of Fame. Station is the 14th former Hawkeye player or coach to earn the honor and the first since Hayden Fry in 2003. Fry was Station's coach at Iowa from 1982-85.

The Hall of Fame Class will be inducted at the National Football Foundation's Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 8, 2009, in New York City. The recipients will be officially enshrined at the Hall of Fame in South Bend, Ind., in the summer of 2010. 

Twenty-three times in his career, Station was credited with 10 or more tackles in a game. He had 20 against Purdue in 1983 and against Michigan State in 1985 and 21 against Minnesota in 1984. Station led the Hawkeyes in tackles all four seasons and three of those years the Hawkeyes led the Big Ten Conference in total defense. Station, the school's all-time leading tackler with 492 (308 solo, 184 assists), was also a two-time academic All-American. 


{Courtesy: University of Iowa Athletics}

Powered by Frankly